Home› JGMaker Magic

Hot End Questions

FunInAlaskaFunInAlaska Posts: 18Member
First of all I would like to introduce myself. I am brand new to 3d printing as of 2 weeks ago when I received my first 3d printer a JG Aurora Maker Magic. I have been researching 3d printers for about 5 years was just waiting for the opportunity to get one. I got this one because of a "too good to refuse sale" so now I have been using this for 2 weeks.

It has been printing amazingly well till last evening when I was printing a second iteration of a prototype part I am developing and I went to check on it and could see a gap between the nozzle and the previous layer printed. I cancelled the print and started examining the issue. Realizing it was a clogged nozzle I attempted a Hot pull and without success I proceeded to a Cold Pull.  This appeared to work so I pulled up a file that I had previously printed with success that was a very short print only about 20 minutes.  When this was done it was very spongy and crumbly so I guess the nozzle was still partially clogged.

This morning I went at it on replacing the nozzle with a stainless steel one I had ordered with intention of replacing it anyway, and in doing so discovered that there was a large glob of plastic stuck in the hot end. It appeared the Bowden  Tube had pulled up from the nozzle. This was a great find as after I fixed this it completely solved my issue with low or no extrusion. Now I am having a problem with stringing I was not having before but I am sure with some trial and error I can fix that in slicer settings.