Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Getting Started & Troubleshooting

Broken steppers?

Hello! I've received my JGAurora A5 last week and calibrated it, everything was fine. I flashed the community firmware and tried to calibrate again, except as soon as I made it go to the first point, I heard a loud clicking noise, as if it tried to get into position when it already was? anyway, I started smelling smoke and immediately turned it off and unplugged it. When I turned it back on, the Y axis and Z axis didn't work at all anymore. The LCD still worked fine, so I'm assuming the board is still intact. I checked the steppers and while I'm no expert, the connection seemed a lot more orangey than say, my bowden stepper (the one shown at the top) I'm assuming the Z axis stepper and Y axis steppers got burnt.

So, which stepper do I get? I know there's links to pieces and parts on here but they don't really look the same. I'm a little lost. I heard the Y axis motor needs to be more powerful? I really don't want to mess this up more than I already have. Also, how do I keep this from happening in the future? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    edited July 2018
    Hi Jari, welcome to the forum!

Sorry to hear that things have gone terribly wrong so quick! How disappointing!

I'd bet that the stepper motors are fine. Takes a fair bit to kill them. Much more likely to be the stepper drivers that have died.

You can swap the stepper drivers in the working axis with the ones in the broken axis and see if the axis moves then. I would inspect the stepper drivers and the motherboard closely, as they are more likely to have been the source of the burning smell. You could also test the motors this way too - by swapping things around and seeing if they moved when plugged into a working motor's cable.