Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Modifications & Upgrades

Increase extruder temperature

Hello. I am new in they forum. I have purchased an A5. I print big parts in PETG, and I would need to increase the temperature of the extruder over the 250 degrees limited by the manufacturer. I think 260 would be enough. Can anyone help me with this issue? Is there any simple way to overwrite the maxtemp threshold of the machine ?. I have never changed the firmware of the printer yet and since I use the machine for my job, I have no room for failures or wasted time... Thank you very much for your assistance!

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    edited September 2018
    Welcome @Diegoderosa ! :smile:

Unfortunately it is unsafe to use his printer over 255°C, due to the toxic fumes are produced when heating PTFE above that temperature. If you need to do that, you need to buy a printer with an all metal hot and that does not use a PTFE lined heat break. Alternatively you could do some major modifications to the A5 and fit something like an E3D all metal extruder system to the printer.
    Post edited by Samuel Pinches on
    If you upgrade to the custom community mainboard firmware for the A5, the temperature of the nozzle is better calibrated, so the actual maximum temperature usable is very slightly higher, and the indicated nozzle temperatures are also more accurately recorded.
  • DiegoderosaDiegoderosa Posts: 6Member
    Thank you Samuel. I have already upgraded to the custom community mainboard firmware. I will try it and comment later. Do you think the E3D extruder will fit the A5? Or the dimensions are different?.

The funny thing is that if I print from the computer (I use Simplify 3D), I can reach 265 centigrade degrees. If i print form the USD stick, it only let me 250 degrees. You said that 255 could be possible. Do you have any recommendations to change the maximum temperature at least to 255? Maybe the extra 5 degrees help me a little bit.