Home 3D Print Lounge

Amazon 1.75mm PLA filament print settings

AONAON Posts: 19Member
I am a newbie to 3D printing. Just received my A5 in mid December and had a number of problems which were quickly resolved by support... they sent me a new machine.

This one works fantastic with the Yellow generic PLA filament from China (supplied with the machine).
I purchased more (a 5 reel/colour package) from Amazon.ca (Canada).  This stuff is also manufactured in China.

Tried to print in Black using the same gcode and after a few minutes the feed gear got choppy and ruined the print.  Tried White and experienced the same issue.  Cleaned the feed gear with a dental pick and soft brass wire brush both times.  The filament was primed beautifuly all times.  I was told to wipe some canola oil on the first 2 to 3 inches of the filament to lubricate the Bowden feed tube to reduce friction.  Did this and it did not help.

I tried to print again with the same gcode and the original Yellow... perfect.
So it is the Amazon filament.

Did some internet sleuthing and it seems I may need to run colder (possibly 190°C versus 210°C) and slower (40mm/sec versus 60mm/sec) print speed.  Even the bed is a lower temperature (40°C versus 65°C).  It was even suggested on one posting that the Feed may need to be reduced (93% vesus 100%).

Has anyone experienced anything like this?  Has anyone suggestions as to what and how I should tweek the settings to get a good print with this other filament?  I suspect this is a standard occurance with new filament?  Is it all trial and error ($$$$)?

Any suggestions offered will be greatly appreciated by this novice.

BTW, I successfully printed a centre piece for a Dominoes Train  game and have printed two of six or seven Dominoes Tile Racks.
Made my own models (Inventor) and sliced with Cura 3.6.0

Alan

Comments

• AONAON Posts: 19Member
    edited January 2019
    Well I reduced the print temp to 200
    reduced the print speed to 40mm/sec