Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Modifications & Upgrades

Safe A3S Power Supply Replacement

jollypikejollypike Posts: 12Member
edited April 2018 in Modifications & Upgrades
I know that people recommend an inexpensive LED power supply to replace the woefully underpowered power supply shipped with the A3S, but, as an electrical engineer, I can say there are some problems with this that worry me. The first problem is that the power supplies are unsafe unless mounted in another enclosure as the LV terminals are exposed to touch (hence don’t comply with BS7671 wiring regulations for Low Voltage supplies if used without an enclosure - then cooling issues come into the equation). The second is that some of these supplies are so cheap you worry about the quality.

i’ve been doing some research and found for example the Power Pax or Mean Well IP rated ranges of 600w (up to 25 Amp) power supplies which do comply (e.g. Mean Well HLG-600H-24) . There are different versions (some models have tuneable voltage and current pots for example for C.V. and C.C. operation). They’re also IP rated! But they’re not cheap.

Hope this helps someone.
Post edited by jollypike on

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    One option is to use a standard LED power supply, and to print a cover for the terminal end. There are several designs on thingiverse. A good quality brand is MeanWell. On the wiki there is a link to a meanwell power supply that is used in the A5. This is a good option for upgrading the A3S as the bed is smaller.
  • jollypikejollypike Posts: 12Member
    edited April 2018