Home JGAurora A5S, A1 & A3S-V2 Getting Started & Troubleshooting

Filament detection issues

My prints keep stopping. Printer beeps and LCD says the filament ran out but there is still plenty left. I extrude a bit and resume printing for it to do it again 5 minutes later. I tried looking for the wiring pin issue that is posted about the A5 but I can’t find that in the A5s. What should I check now?

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    Welcome @resanchez0911 !
    Can you remove/unmount the filament sensor form the filament path, and then put something in it to force it to be shut (e.g. small length of filament)? I'm not sure what else to try - I think you'll need to contact JGAurora to let them know you're having problems with that feature.
    Cheers,
    Sam
  • resanchez0911resanchez0911 Posts: 2Member
    @Samuel Pinches I have not taken it apart yet. I’m apprehensive about doing that since I’m still really new to the 3-D printing world. I did try to get the nozzle off once but it wouldn’t budge. I’m afraid I’m going to break something then have no idea how to fix it. I’ve tried a bunch of different setting changes (nozzle temp, print speed, bed level...) to the point of not knowing what the original settings were, but I still have the same problems. I was wondering if it might have something to do with retraction (distance, speed...) do you think that could be a possibility? 
  • Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    I am confident you will be able to disassemble the filament sensor without damaging anything. I would not say that about the hot end, which is much more fragile. I see where you're coming from, but i don't think the settings are at fault here.
  • keithirmakeithirma Posts: 2Member