Home JGAurora A5S, A1 & A3S-V2 Getting Started & Troubleshooting

Beginner Questions - How to Optimize Print Speeds

Hello-

I just recently purchased the JDAURORA A5S Upgraded. I am extremely new to 3D printing and this forum. I apologize if this question is already asked on the forum with a more specific term. I was unable to find anything on my initial search.

My first prints have all gone extremely well. I was nervous as I have heard that failed prints occur frequently, especially with your first couple prints as you are learning. The main problem I am having is when I pull a model into the Cura slicer application is that the prints take FAR longer than the estimate time in the software.

For example, I had a print that quoted 14 hours to complete. I did a lot of testing of settings related to support rules, infill settings, and printing speed. When the print actually processed it actually took 27 hours to complete. I could understand that the machine could be off a certain margin, but that is nearly double the quote time. I have to be missing some key file setup steps and/or Aurora configurations. During the process, I went into the "More" options and bumped the speed all the way up to 500% print speed.I didn't really notice a different in the actual speed of the print.

My first step will be go through the steps outlined in the follow wiki: https://jgaurorawiki.com/a5/printing-profiles to make sure that there isn't a setting in Cura causing the problem. While I do that, I wanted to go ahead and ask the community here on some general tips to minimize  print times. Especially in the beginning while I am learning how to simply model items properly for 3D printing, I would like to minimize wait times between submission and results.

I am using 100% PLA filament at the moment.
  • What is the maximum speed for prints recommended for minimal failed prints? (I accept there is always a trade off of speed to quality)