Homeโ€บ JGMaker Magic

Trouble with first print

Hello, this is my first time with 3D printing and I got the printer together and was trying to perform the first print that comes with the SD Card. And when I went to print the nozzle had the filament come out and basically stay on the nozzle end and not stick or come out much from the nozzle to do anything for the print. Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Comments

• Stephen ToddStephen Todd Posts: 281๐ŸŒŸ Super Member ๐ŸŒŸ
    I'd forget the model that comes with the SD card and go to thingyverse and download, slice, print a "first layer" test file

The hot end needs to be about 200c and the bed about 60c

Until you get the bed levelled and the gap between the nozzle and the bed so that a piece of paper between the two can be pulled with slight resistance, everything else you do is useless - this is done at working temperature - the hot end needs to be about 200c and the bed about 60c when doing this - you set the 4 corners and the center of the bed the best you can

• djs1394xddjs1394xd Posts: 8Member
    I know I'm responding to both of my posts at this point but you would recommend setting them when they are at those temps compared to how it goes over setting them with it on? Just to make sure I'm understanding right because I did the paper test already when it was just turned on like the video shows. And I did try using a different model from there just in case also.
    I wasn't sure if you did the paper drag test with the extruder and bed heated at working temperature - some people don't realize, and do it cold - which is no good, as you get thermal expansion when you are at working temperature, and the gap would then disappear to nothing - set the gap to paper thickness at 200c and 60c - then do a single layer first layer test print - either 5 squares, or a large circle - you need to see how it prints over most of the bed area, then finely adjust from there if necessary