Home 3D Print Lounge

How to print at low temperatures?

Hi everyone, this is my first time here . My name is Jaco, I´m spanish living in the Nederlands. I got a A3S in November and I have been playing with it and the diferent softwares for 3d modeling. I have no backup so this months have been quite intense but also funny. 
I´m trying to print PCL. The fabricant recomends 100C for this material (I think can be printed even at lover temperatures) but the printer is not working properly. The motor of the extruder remainds quiet even when the head of the printer does move. I have read a little and it may be a protectión of the setings of the printer to avoid extrusion under 187C.

Any idea how to solve this problem?

Kind regards from a rookie.

PD: great web site, I also love the dark theme. I learning a lot and I enjoy it.

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    Welcome! I have a little familiarity with PCL. We did 3D printing of PCL in my lab at uni.

You need to change the firmware configuration.h to remove the minimum extrusion temperature. Please post a photo of your printer ( so I can see whether you have A3S v1 or A3S v2) and I will try to help you when I can.

Thanks for your kind words about the website, it is not perfect, but it is one of my pride and joys. :blush:

• Jaco Carlo KasunJaco Carlo Kasun Posts: 12Member
    edited March 2020
    Hi there Samuel!
    Good to hear that you were able to get a little in touch with this material.
    Did you know that it´s been use in the investigation for future organ printing? Of course is not so simple as to print a toy but it is a start. Because of is biocompatibility and slow  and desintegration in a "live" enviroment some reaserchers use it to (for example) treat bone defect in rats; as a growing material for cells; drugs realease,...