Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Getting Started & Troubleshooting

Grinding noises when extruding

I have an A3S that I’ve been using since Christmas 2018. This past month or so I have been hearing some noises during X&Y moves. Nothing real bad, sounded just like I needed to do some routine maintenance. Then my extruder motor started making loud clicking/grinding noise that sounded like the filament was jammed. That is when I decided to take it completely apart to inspect everything, check belts, lubricate rods, etc. Everything looked great. I can move move X and Y freely with no resistance or noise. The belt tension felt good and there was no debris interfering with travel. I disassembled the extruder assembly completely to the point I even removed the filament detection switch. Pulled bowden tube and all. I checked the gear on the extruder stepper motor, made sure the filament release spring was seated, everything I could think of. 
I put everything back together, fired it up and...Same Problem!!! I walked away yesterday so nobody got hurt. 
This evening I tried again.  I even get the clicking/grinding when I am auto loading the filament so it is not a hot-end jam. 
I am at my wits end.  The extruder is by far the loudest but the other axis just don’t sound right either. 
Is it possible it could be a voltage problem from the stepper drivers?

A couple of clarifications. 
1. I am using the original stepper drivers it came with.
2. I am using the original firmware. 
3. I am an electronic technician (35 years) so I am comfortable with any test procedures if someone can give me some guidance. 

HELP PLEASE!!!

Comments

• Stephen ToddStephen Todd Posts: 281🌟 Super Member 🌟
    Are you using the original power brick, or did you upgrade to a more powerful PSU?
    Thanked by 11TxMarvel
  • 1TxMarvel1TxMarvel Posts: 9Member
    Original power brick. 15 amp