Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Getting Started & Troubleshooting

guidance regarding cooling fan speed while building the raft layers

AONAON Posts: 19Member
I am a novice with about a week under my belt.

I have discovered that my objects with pointy shapes laid on their side (on the bed) warp without a raft.
I originally tried a brim and the brim warped at the poits which caused the object to scoop upwards at these points upon building.

When I use a raft the PLA material build is stable.

However, the raft has four layers.
I had the fan OFF for the complete raft.
The raft third layer warped upon deposit.

I turned the fan ON half speed (50%) for the middle and 100% for the top.
The middle ended up being 90% through layer two of four.
Layer three warped upon deposit.

My raft build speed is 15mm/sec.
I find my feed gear does not chatter at this speed... it had started at layer two before.
Extruder temp is 215°C; originally it was 210°C
Bed temp is 55°C
Print speed is 25mm/sec as the feed gear does nt chatter at this speed; originally it was 30mm/sec.
feed rate is 95%; originally it was 100%.

I seem to have discovered the feed/speed/temp blend to eliminate the chatter.
I just cannot seem to get the third of four layers to deposit without warping (lifting/curling).
You can see in the pics below that the final layer tends to iron it out but it is not flat and it affects the raft removal.

Any suggestions?

(BTW the object is a dominoes rack for playing train.  It is 10 inches  or 254mm long when done.)

Thank you in advance for any help offered!
Alan

Post edited by AON on

Comments

• AONAON Posts: 19Member
    Printing in Grey this morning with Amazon bought filament (1.75mm dia) at the same speeds, feeds and temps.

Once again layers one and two (front to back and diagonal ) went down nicely.
    Layer three (side to side) with fan at half speed (127 RPM or 50%) curled.
    I tapped it down with a short piece of filament as it was being laid.