Home JGAurora A5 & A3S Modifications & Upgrades

Benefit of TMC2208 vs TMC2130

g_pwng_pwn Posts: 29Active Member
Can anyone tell me if there are any benefits what so ever of running a TMC2208 instead of a TMC2130?
I know TMC2130 communicates over SPI whereas the TMC2208 communicates over UART. I know that SPI requires more pins when compared to UART (I think this is correct).

Additionally there are talks of sensorless homing. Can anyone explain to me the differences between sensorless homing and auto leveling?

Thanks for the info!!

Comments

• Samuel PinchesSamuel Pinches Posts: 2,997Administrator
    Hi @g_pwn! I'm no expert, but my understanding is that the core of TMC 2100, 2130 and 2208 are all the same (same max motor current etc), and it is just the external communication options that differ. I've only tried the 2100 and 2130 in their dumb modes, and using the solder bridges - I have not tried the SPI communication yet on the 2130.

Auto levelling and sensorless homing are different things, I'll try to break it down.

In order for the printer to know the position of any of the axis, the printer has reference points that it moves to, where a sensor tells the printer that it has reached that point. These points are known as "home" points, and they do NOT have to be located at the zero coordinate, they can be set to any coordinate and simply tell the printer that it has reached that point.

At those home locations, there are several types of sensors that can be used, most  commonly mechanical switches that are hit, or optical interrupt sensors. However, there are other kinds of sensors that can be used, such as inductive sensors, or optical IR reflective sensors.